Today marks the highly anticipated release of BARSTOOL CONFESSIONS — the bravely detailed but wildly fun debut album from singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Sophia Scott. Out now via EMPIRE, the Colorado-bred artist’s first full-length offers a real-time reflection on a life-changing breakup, narrating her experience with an exhilarating honesty. As she gears up to make her eagerly awaited Grand Ole Opry debut tonight, Scott is also celebrating the arrival of BARSTOOL CONFESSIONS by premiering the official music video for the album’s tearful closing track, “Watering Roses.”

True to its title, BARSTOOL CONFESSIONS finds Scott sharing her story with a full-hearted intimacy and refreshing lack of inhibition. Over the course of its 12 fearlessly candid songs, the Nashville-based musician opens up about some of her less-than-healthy coping mechanisms and documents a few of the rowdier moments on her way to heartbreak recovery. But thanks to the soulful sincerity and raw sensitivity of her songwriting — as well as her gift for making the specific feel so universal — BARSTOOL CONFESSIONS ultimately speaks to the unparalleled power of living your truth, owning your femininity, and rediscovering your confidence in the most unlikely places.

“It’s such a surreal moment finally releasing my debut album," says Scott. "I’ve put so much love, sweat, and tears into this project over the years and I’ve spent so many sleepless nights getting it exactly where I want it to be. It’s a perfect representation of me – perfectly imperfect. From the highs of a rowdy night out to the lows of the regrets and hangovers, I have learned so much. It’s helped me through a very tough time learning how to navigate heartbreak and painstaking vulnerability. I hope this helps anyone who needs it and I cannot wait for you to join me on this rodeo.”


Co-written by Scott, Sam Martinez (Caroline Kole, Shaboozey), and Nolan Sipe (OneRepublic, Fitz and the Tantrums), “Watering Roses” closes out BARSTOOL CONFESSIONS with the album’s most vulnerable track. With its lilting banjo melodies and tender acoustic guitar, the timeless Country ballad fully captures the devastation of struggling to let go of a fading romance (from the chorus: “I been watering roses/That ain’t ever gonna grow/There’s only so much/You can try to fill up/A heart when it’s got a hole”). Produced by Martinez, “Watering Roses” serves as a powerful showcase for her stunning vocal range, drifting from confusion to frustration to absolute heartache with breathtaking grace.

"This song is so deeply personal and was incredibly therapeutic to write. I wanted the video to convey all of that emotion and show another side of me that I don’t think people necessarily see often.  Being in the mountains of Colorado - in the evergreens, Aspen leaves, and by the river is where I am able to find my harmony, grounding and inner peace. I wanted the video to show the beauty of the outdoors with the sadness of the heartbreak. Especially since the song is literally a metaphor about flowers. It felt important to be in nature."

Next Wednesday (10/25), the official video for “Watering Roses” will have its broadcast premiere on CMT. Tune in details coming soon. 




In a tremendous double triumph, Scott will fulfill a lifelong dream tonight by taking the stage at Grand Ole Opry. Go here to learn more and to get tickets now, or call 1-800-SEE-OPRY. Last night, Scott kicked off the celebration for BARSTOOL CONFESSIONS with an album release party at Barstool Nashville, complete with a live full-band performance, custom cocktails, and immersive content captured in her home state.

The follow-up to her acclaimed debut EP One Of These Days — a 2022 release praised by PeopleAmerican Songwriter, and E! News, who deemed it an “emotional, fun, exploratory masterpiece” — BARSTOOL CONFESSIONS offers plenty of much-needed inspiration for overcoming post-breakup blues, even as Scott reveals the more painful aspects of reclaiming your independence. Along with “Watering Roses,” the album features the previously released singles “Boots, Jeans, & Jesus” (hailed by Holler as a “cheekily knowing celebration of all the ups and downs…”), “Lipstick on You” (lauded by MusicRow's DISClaimer as "[s]ultry and soul-tinged….Add some blues to your playlist with this dandy, stately lament”), and “No You Didn’t” (a stomp-and-clap anthem spotlighting Scott’s singular mix of humor, heart, and good-natured bravado as she takes all the shame out of post-party remorse). Recorded in Nashville, Los Angeles, and Vail, Colorado, the album brings Scott’s whip-smart and self-aware songwriting to a one-of-a-kind sound perfectly suited to a lifelong musician inspired by such eclectic genres as ’90s Country-Pop, throwback Soul music, and Southern Rock.


  1. “What I’m Wearing Tonight”

  2. “Lipstick on You”

  3. “You Problem”

  4. “City Limits”

  5. “Plastic Rodeo”

  6. “Anything but the Truth”

  7. “No You Didn’t”

  8. “How to Kiss”

  9. “Keeper”

  10. “Mullet Over”

  11. “Boots, Jeans, & Jesus”

  12. “Watering Roses”





Based in Nashville but raised in Colorado, Sophia Scott has blazed her own bold trail to Country stardom. With a rare gift for raw yet exquisitely detailed storytelling — and a one-of-a-kind sound infused with elements of Southern Rock, Pop, R&B, and Soul — the singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist has amassed over 92 MILLION career streams and drawn nearly ONE MILLION monthly listeners to date. Growing up in Boulder, she took up piano and guitar as a child and soon started composing songs of her own, then further developed her unforgettably candid songwriting voice upon kicking off her music career in Los Angeles. During her six years in L.A., Scott found early success with singles like 2018’s “White Fence” and 2019’s “Drink Too Much Wine” (both featured on coveted playlists like Spotify’s New Music Friday), but ultimately relocated to Nashville and immersed herself in sharpening her craft. A breakthrough year for Scott, 2021 brought such triumphs as opening for the Jonas Brothers, landing on an artists-to-watch list from People, and inking her record deal with EMPIRE Nashville. The fast-rising artist maintained that momentum throughout 2022, when she delivered her widely acclaimed debut EP One Of These Days — a six-song project that earned praise from American SongwriterE! NewsEntertainment Tonight, and CMT (who stated that “Nashville newcomer Sophia Scott proves she has a bright future ahead in the genre”) and explored such complex subjects as watching her loved ones struggle with addiction (on the fan-favorite “Side Effects”). Along with signing a global publishing deal with Warner Chappell Music and Ross Golan’s Unknown Music Publishing in 2022, Scott's debut album BARSTOOL CONFESSIONS is out now, via EMPIRE.