PLATINUM selling artist-songwriter Canaan Smith returns with his own “solidly country” (MusicRow) style, as he announces the release of his highly anticipated sophomore album, HIGH COUNTRY SOUND (Round Here Records), out April 2. Fans can preorder beginning today (3/19).

“This whole album felt like a chance to make something that I truly wanted, which was extremely liberating – but also nerve-racking because I became the one responsible for the project,” Smith explains. “I really focused on having fun with it, and I didn’t feel pressure from anyone to do anything in particular – it all came from a place of my own personal love for these songs. Taking control and kind of steering the project in the way I wanted just made the outcome that much more special, and I couldn’t be prouder of it.”

Serving as the long-awaited follow-up to Smith’s critically acclaimed debut album, BRONCO (2015), and marking his first major release under Round Here Records, HIGH COUNTRY SOUND showcases a new and unexpected side of the Virginia native. Returning to his roots for backwoods inspiration, the 12-track project features everything from bluegrass-tinged, swampy singalongs like “Catch Me If You Can” featuring Brent Cobb to raw, lyrically driven ballads including “Like I Ain’t Missin’ You,” with each tune peeling back a different layer on what he refers to as “Canaan Country.”

Wanting to make an album that truly reflects who he is as an artist, Smith made sure to have his hands in all parts of the creation process – making his debut as sole producer on eight of the 12 tracks, while coproducing the rest of the set alongside Florida Georgia Line’s Tyler Hubbard and Brian Kelley. As a writer, his credit is on every single song on the project.
Canaan Smith’s HIGH COUNTRY SOUND Track Listing:

1. “Grounded” (Canaan Smith, Jim Beavers, Ben Stennis) *
2. “Mason Jars & Fireflies” (Canaan Smith, Brian Kelley, Corey Crowder) *
3. “Colder Than You” (Canaan Smith, Jared Mullins, Corey Crowder) ^
4. “High Country” (Canaan Smith, Blake Redferrin, Corey Crowder) ^
5. “Catch Me If You Can” ft. Brent Cobb (Canaan Smith, Brian Kelley, Tyler Hubbard, Jason Afable) *
6. “Cabin In The Woods” (Canaan Smith, Josh Miller, Brian Kelley, David Garcia) ^
7. “American Dream” (Canaan Smith, Blair Daly) *
8. “Sweet Virginia” (Canaan Smith, Brian Kelley, Tyler Hubbard, Corey Crowder) ^    
9. “Still” (Canaan Smith, Ben Stennis, Jim Beavers) *
10. “Like I Ain't Missin' You” (Canaan Smith, Blake Redferrin, Jason Afable) *
11. “Highway Blues” (Canaan Smith, Jake Rose, Brian Kelley) *
12. “Losin' Sleep Over A Girl” (Canaan Smith, Marv Green, Kyle Fishman) *

Produced by Canaan Smith
Produced by Canaan Smith, Brian Kelley + Tyler Hubbard
Previewing HIGH COUNTRY SOUND, Smith is sharing one of his favorite tracks off the project today (3/19) – “Sweet Virginia” – available across all streaming platforms and digital retailers. The reflective tune’s meaning is two-fold for Smith, both serving as an ode to his home state and also to the light of his life, his one-year-old daughter Virginia Rose. This new tune is the latest in a line of other teases from the upcoming album, including Smith’s critically acclaimed anthem “Colder Than You,” “Cabin In The Woods” and “Mason Jars & Fireflies.”
Bringing the HIGH COUNTRY SOUND release to the next level, Smith has partnered up with the Gatlinburg Convention and Visitors Bureau to debut the new project with an intimate, acoustic performance, presented by Ole Smoky Moonshine, in Gatlinburg, TN, on April 1. Although the entire show will be livestreamed across the Visit Gatlinburg social platforms, a small group of local fans will be able to join the socially-distanced event by applying for tickets HERE. To top it off, those who request tickets will also have the opportunity to walk away with a free hotel stay and attraction passes for the weekend.





Canaan Smith will continue to build on his signature sound, which he describes as “Canaan Country,” with his sophomore album, HIGH COUNTRY SOUND - out April 2. Celebrating this upcoming release, Smith shared the latest track off the project, "Sweet Virginia," following a string of previous releases including critically acclaimed “Colder Than You," “Cabin In The Woods,” and “Mason Jars & Fireflies.” A burgeoning Tree Vibez Music songwriter, the Virginia native’s credit is on hits recorded by Jason Aldean, Florida Georgia Line, Cole Swindell, Mason Ramsey and more, which paved the way for his signing to Round Here Records, the label launched by Florida Georgia Line’s Brian Kelley and Tyler Hubbard. With 345 MILLION career streams to his name, Smith’s debut album BRONCO (2015) delivered PLATINUM-certified, #1 smash “Love You Like That” plus fan-favorite “Hole In A Bottle,” staking his place in Country music.